1970 County Groups: Detailed Composition and Boundary Files

(Back to Geographic tools)

Detailed composition of 1970 County Groups:

This lists the counties comprising every 1970 county group (see CNTYGP97). This information is also displayed graphically in a series of maps above. The county composition list is very long, so it has been split into four parts to make it more manageable.

A full version of this list can also be downloaded as MS Excel 97 or Text file.

101-3901 Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia
4001-7901 Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin
8001-10501 Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Wisconsin, Wyoming
10601-15500 Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, Oklahoma, Oregon, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, Wyoming, Washington, Puerto Rico; Miscellaneous

The following maps show the boundaries of the 1970 County Groups. The large numbers are the first three digits of county group, and the smaller numbers are the last two digits (leading zeroes are not printed). An alternative County Group Composition table down below provides a text listing of the county components of each county groups.

Boundary files for 1970 County Groups:

Nationwide Boundary files for 1970 County Groups